The Independent Broadcasters of Ireland logo

IBI Board member & CEO of South East Radio Eamonn Buttle inducted into PPI Hall of Fame

eamonn-buttle-photo-150x145 eamonn-buttle-9272-150x150IBI Board member and CEO of South East Radio, Eamonn Buttle will be inducted into the PPI Radio Awards Hall of Fame on Friday, September 16th. The PPI Radio Awards Hall of Fame is one of the highest accolades awarded by the radio industry in Ireland with nominees chosen by their peers for broadcasting skills and their dedication to the radio broadcasting sector.

Eamonn Buttle is the owner and CEO of South East Radio since 1989. A founder of IBI, he is its longest serving board member and also its longest serving Chairman. Actively interested in the development of the independent radio sector, he was instrumental in the founding of radio sales house IRS, the industry training body Learning Waves and the first national talk radio station, Newstalk. He has also represented independent radio on the Boards of ASAI, People of the Year Awards, JNLR and the Digital Board of Ireland.

John Purcell, Chairman of IBI said “Eamonn Buttle has had a huge impact on the independent radio sector in Ireland. Despite working in media for the past 30 years Eamonn has never lost his enthusiasm for radio and continues to play an active role in the development of the sector. He is responsible for giving many of Irelands’ radio broadcasters their first start on radio and has instilled in them his own enthusiasm and love for the medium. His induction into the PPI Radio Awards Hall of Fame is well deserved”.

Liam Dwyer, Station Manager of South East Radio said “We in South East Radio are privileged to work with Eamonn Buttle on a daily basis. His impact on the wider radio industry cannot be understated and radio stations throughout the country will remember changes such as the removal of the 3% levy on broadcasters and the increased JNLR sample size for local radio stations which Eamonn was instrumental in achieving. The staff of South East Radio are extremely proud that Eamonn is being recognised by the radio industry and inducted into the PPI Hall of Fame”.

Eamonn Buttle will accept the Hall of Fame Award at a ceremony in the offices of the BAI on Friday September 16th. Also being inducted into the PPI Hall of Fame at tomorrow’s ceremony are Ian Dempsey (Today FM), Dave Fanning (RTÉ Radio) and Trevor Campbell (Downtown Radio).

Station Name

Postal Address (incl Eircode)

Reception Phone

Sales Phone

Postal Address (incl Eircode)

On-air Phone

On-air Text

Info Email

Sales Email







Other info