The Independent Broadcasters of Ireland logo

2019 Oireachtas Media Awards – Call for Nominations

An tOireachtas today (July 17th, 2019) announced the opening of the Nominations Process for the Oireachtas Media Awards.   The Awards, which are presented annually, are recognised as a mark of excellence in Irish language broadcasting.  Two new categories, sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland, have been added to the 2019 list of awards and are specific to the Community and Commercial Radio sectors.

“It is important to recognise the wealth of excellent programmes in Irish being provided by community and commercial broadcast services”, said Liam Ó Maolaodha, National Director of An tOireachtas.  “The introduction of the two new Awards, for Programme of the Year on Community Radio and Programme of the Year on Commercial Radio will serve to highlight the range and diversity of creative Irish-language programmes on our airwaves.”

Commenting, BAI Chief Executive, Michael O’Keeffe said “The BAI is delighted to sponsor two awards for Irish language programmes on community and commercial radio that recognise the creativity and talent of people in the radio sector making high quality programming in the Irish language.  These awards support the BAI’s objective of fostering a media landscape that represents and serves the diversity of Irish society and we look forward to seeing the nominees and eventual winners at the Gala Event at the annual Oireachtas Festival”.

Other award categories include Television Series of the Year; Radio Series of the Year; Television Programme / Film of the Year; Television Personality of the Year; Radio Personality of the Year;

Journalist of the Year; Social Media Campaign of the Year and the Rising Star Award.  All award recipients, excluding the Award for the Rising Star, are selected by a panel of judges.   The recipient of the Rising Star Award is selected by public vote and lines will open when shortlists are announced.

Programmes broadcast in the last twelve months only are eligible for submission and recipients of 2018 Oireachtas Media Awards should not be nominated. (See list attached.)  The deadline for submissions is 5.00 pm, Friday, August 16th, 2019.

Online nominations may be submitted at  Shortlists for all categories will be announced on  Tuesday, September 3rd, 2019 and Awards will be presented at a Gala Event in Citywest Hotel, Co. Dublin, on Wednesday, October 30th, 2019,  during the annual Oireachtas Festival.

Station Name

Postal Address (incl Eircode)

Reception Phone

Sales Phone

Postal Address (incl Eircode)

On-air Phone

On-air Text

Info Email

Sales Email







Other info